The courthouse is consructed of “Peak Creek Sandstone”. The clock and the belfry were added in 1911. The court house was originally constructed in 1896 and has been reconstructed since being destroyed by fire in December of 1989. The structure combines elements of the Richardsonian Romanesque and Queen Anne styles of architecture. Serving as the formal entrance to the building is a stone arch. This was constucted to serve as the entrance to the Pulaski County exhibit at the Jamestown Exposition in 1907. The courthouse was named to the National Register in 1981 and the public is welcome to tour the building and view the displays. Of particular interest is the local history of African Americans. Developed by Mrs. Lucy Harmon, the display profiles, among others, Mr Chauncy Harmon, an early civil rights advocate in the 1950’s.
Pulaski County Courthouse
Home » Plan » Cultural Heritage » Pulaski County Courthouse

Pulaski County Courthouse
45 3rd Street NW, Pulaski, VA 24301
Loading...
No Records Found
Sorry, no records were found. Please adjust your search criteria and try again.
Maps failed to load
Sorry, unable to load the Maps API.
More About Pulaski County Courthouse
Other Nearby Places
New
The courthouse is consructed of “Peak Creek Sandstone”. The clock and the belfry were added in 1911. The court house was originally constructed in 1896 and has been reconstructed since being destroyed by fire in December of 1989. The structure combines elements of the Richardsonian Romanesque and Queen Anne styles of architecture. Serving as the formal entrance to the building Read more...
New
The courthouse is consructed of “Peak Creek Sandstone”. The clock and the belfry were added in 1911. The court house was originally constructed in 1896 and has been reconstructed since being destroyed by fire in December of 1989. The structure combines elements of the Richardsonian Romanesque and Queen Anne styles of architecture. Serving as the formal entrance to the building Read more...
New
The courthouse is consructed of “Peak Creek Sandstone”. The clock and the belfry were added in 1911. The court house was originally constructed in 1896 and has been reconstructed since being destroyed by fire in December of 1989. The structure combines elements of the Richardsonian Romanesque and Queen Anne styles of architecture. Serving as the formal entrance to the building Read more...
Home » Plan » Cultural Heritage » Pulaski County Courthouse
