One of the few private military academies in Virginia, Hargrave Military Academy was founded in 1909 by John Hunt Hargrave and the Rev. T. Ryland Sanford as Chatham Training School. It was chartered in 1911 and became affiliated with the Baptist General Association of Virginia in 1913. Chatham Training School provided a general education for boys. During World War One, Read more...
Historic Sites
Home » Plan » Historic Sites » Page 5
Historic Sites
New
The Fayette Street Historic District awaits your discovery for local history. The district continues to represent the commercial and institutional center of the African-American community in Martinsville as one of its oldest neighborhoods. The 42-acre district includes 116 historically contributing buildings with architecture reflective of a number of styles: Late Victorian, Queen Anne; Late 19th & 20th century Revivals, Colonial Read more...
New
A member of the League of Historic American Theatres, The Lincoln Theatre in Marion, Virginia, is one of three existing Art Deco Mayan Revival-style theaters in America. The Lincoln is a Virginia Historic Landmark and is on the National Register of Historic Places. Originally built in 1929 as a vaudeville and movie house, The Lincoln Theatre hosted stars such as Read more...
New
The City of Clifton Forge is in western Virginia nestled in the Allegheny Mountains at the southern tip of the Shenandoah Valley and west of the Blueridge Parkway. The population is approximately 4,679. CSX Transportation’s “mountain rail line” passes through Clifton Forge which has a rich railroad history. The City is home to the Alleghany Highlands Arts & Crafts Center, Read more...
New
Chatham was established as a town in 1777 during the turbulent years of the American Revolution. Chatham has been affectionately called the “Prettiest Little Town in Southern Virginia.” It has also been called the hub of American architecture by some, as she boasts a fine representation of pre-Revolution, Federal, Victorian, and post-Victorian architecture. Various Walking Tour brochures are available at Read more...
New
Inscription reads: “Monterey was headquarters for Confederates during much of the 1861 Mountain Campaign and headquarters for Federals prior to the fighting at McDowell. In the winter of 1861-1862, skirmishing occurred across the county as the frontier between the armies shifted from Allegheny Mountain, on the modern state line, to West View in Augusta County.” Union forces occupied Monterey on Read more...
New
Historic Boydton is an 18th century towne located in Southern Virginia. A completed street enhancement project renders a charming Victorian ambiance to the entire historic district. As the county seat, it boasts a unique hexastyle Greek Revival courthouse. Built and designed by Jefferson’s own builder, it is a replica of the State Capitol in Richmond. From its central location on Read more...
New
This courthouse was built by Thomas Mercer in 1836. Two U. S. presidents visited Giles County–Major William McKinley and Colonel Rutherford B. Hayes., when their headquarters was temporarily located at Pearisburg. Read more...
New
Built by Judge James L. Tredway, this splendid brick home, now Town Hall, adapted ideally for municipal and police offices. Its purchase in 1978 was partly funded by public subscription as it was in danger of becoming a parking lot. It continues to enjoy public support as funds from the town’s annual “Christmas in Colonial Chatham” are used to refurbish Read more...
New
The museum was the home of John Fox, Jr., a famous mountain author of many novels and short stories. Most well known are “Trail of the Lonesome Pine” and “The Little Shepherd of Kingdom Come”. “Trail of the Lonesome Pine” became the nation’s first million copy selling novel and was later made into a movie. An outdoor drama based on Read more...
New
Nestled in the Blue Ridge Plateau of Southwest Virginia in northeast Carroll County, Dinwiddie Presbyterian Church is one of six rock churches built by Rev. Bob Childress of native stone. Subject of the book, The Man Who Moved a Mountain by Richard C. Davids (1970). This is the largest of the six rock churches. Construction for the church building began Read more...
New
This beautiful and authentic gristmill was built in 1890 and used by locals to grind their grain into mill. This rare treasure is considered one of the most photographed places in Lee County. It has been well maintained and is in magnificent condition considering its age.This is private property and suggested only as an opportunity to take a memorable and beautiful photo. Please Read more...
New
Roaring Run Recreational Area is in Botetourt County, 8 miles northwest of Eagle Rock. Roaring Run Furnace is a 19th century iron furnace on National Register of Historic Places. Informational signs explain the turn of the century furnace operation. Roaring Run falls and Furnace Trail is an excellent hiking trail for the whole family. Two trails lead to the falls creating Read more...
The Historic Cambria Depot is an Tuscan Italianate Depot built by the Virginia Tennessee Railroad in 1867 and opened in 1868. It is one of only two Virginia-Tennessee, pre-segregation Reconstruction Era combination depots left in Virginia and the only wooden Tuscan Italianate depot left in the United States. The station was built on the site of the original station, burned Read more...
New
Visit the birthplace and childhood home of First Lady Edith Bolling Wilson. Born and raised in Wytheville, Edith Bolling Wilson is a descendant of Pocahontas. As one of only eight historic sites across the country dedicated to the interpretation of a First Lady, the museum tells the story of the overlooked, yet vitally important role Edith Bolling Wilson played in the Read more...
New
Listed on the State and National Registers of Historic Places, the Charlotte Court House Historic District is an excellent example of a 19th century rural courthouse town. A highlight of the district is the 1823 courthouse that was built from sketches drawn by Thomas Jefferson. Brochures featuring a self-guided walking tour, map, and history of the town and its architecture Read more...
New
Radford University’s McConnell Library carries information on a wide range of subjects, including the Civil War. Read more...
New
Confederate Major General James Ewell Brown Stuart told his brother in 1863 “I would give anything to make a pilgrimage to the old place, and when the war is over quietly spend the rest of my days there.” J.E.B Stuart never returned to his birthplace and boyhood home, but thanks to a group of local citizens you today can visit Read more...
Danville’s only National Cemetery was created just after the Civil War in 1867. During the War, wagons carried the corpses of those who died in Danville’s military prisons to a cemetery about half a mile south of downtown, where they were interred in mass graves. After the War, the bodies were exhumed and buried beneath individual markers or sent to Read more...
New
Look north along Main Street and you will see Gilmer Terrace, the little park maintained by the Chatham Garden Club. Facing town on the north side of the park is the Oaks. Notice how Main Street hooks around the park? It’s really hooking around the Oaks, due to the clout of its builder, Dr. Robert Coles. Main Street was originally Read more...
New
Come stroll down a historic Main Street enjoying the Victorian architecture and the charm of a small town atmosphere. The Downtown South Boston Historic District is listed on the National Register of Historic Places, is registered as a Virginia Historic Landmark and is one of the largest and architecturally interesting historic districts in Southside Virginia. The district is significant for Read more...
New
New River Bridge, Radford, Trails sign at far west end of Bisset Park off Route 11 – Union troops attacked and burned this critical railroad bridge May 10, 1864, following their victory at Cloyd’s Mountain the day before. The bridge was back in action in a month and survived until the last days of the war. Read more...
New
Beautiful location that has been photographed and painted many times. Restored gristmill/sawmill/woodworking shop and blacksmith shop. Old time skills (basket weaving, seat caneing, spinning, and weaving) demonstrated. Read more...
New
History and tradition abound in Bristol, VA/TN, a truly unique twin-city. In 1881, both sides of Bristol designated the center of the city’s main thoroughfare, State Street, as the Tennessee/Virginia state line. Today, Bristol’s Historic Downtown District, also known as State Street, features specialty gift shops, art galleries, cafes, restaurants and antique shops, and a variety of theatre, street festivals, and live Read more...
New
The Elizabeth Cemetery was associated with Elizabeth Church which is thought to have been the oldest Methodist church built in Smyth County. The land for the church and the cemetery was donated by Elizabeth Henry Campbell Russell “Madam Russell” in 1825. Located in Saltville near the civil war battlefield, this cemetery has graves dating from the time of the land Read more...
New
Step back in time to the early 1900’s, the construction of the 1908 Courthouse, and life in Grayson County. The Vault Museum features an exhibit of an early mountain home, barn and blacksmith shop. Old tools and farm implements are displayed. The Vault Museum is located on the first floor of the 1908 Grayson County Courthouse in what was formerly Read more...
New
The Botetourt County Historical Museum serves as a repository for hundreds of artifacts that have helped to interpret the history of Botetourt County for thousands of visitors. Located directly behind the historic Botetourt County Courthouse, the museum is housed in a building that dates back to the late eighteenth century. The museum contains documents and articles of use in daily living dating Read more...
This historic marker located in beautiful Hurt, VA reads, “The house on the hill three hundred yards to the west was the home of Captain Benjamin Clement, who was one of the first makers of gunpowder in Virginia, 1775. The land grant was made in 1741.” Read more...
New
Visitors along the Blue Ridge Parkway often overlook the fact that the landscape they are traveling was occupied in earlier historic times. Very little has survived the passage of time of the settlers and farmers who once called this home. However, several cemeteries along the route bear mute testimony to these early dwellers and their desendents. The thirty some miles Read more...
New
The Halifax County Courthouse is listed in the Virginia Landmarks Register and occupies a site that has been used for court purposes since the Revolution. The Courthouse was built in 1838, houses records that go back to 1752, and is one of the Classical Revival court buildings erected by master designer and builder, Dabney Cosby and son, Dabney Minor Cosby. Read more...
New
Ellenbrook, otherwise known as Number 4, is the historic home of William Alexander Stuart, founder of the Stuart Land & Cattle Company. Construction of the home was completed in 1858. Ellenbrook offers a mini museum, which displays artifacts, memorabilia, photos, and articles associated with the Stuart family. Special event hosting is also provided. Hours: Monday & Tuesday 10:00 AM – Read more...
New
Discover a place where Main Street meets the mountains, downtown Buchanan. Nestled within the steep slopes of the Blue Ridge and Alleghany Mountains the Town’s Main Street straddles the James River. An important stopping point for travelers since the 1700’s, Buchanan offers scenic beauty and an historic setting. Explore more than 200 years of history as you walk our Main Street, paddle the James River, peddle the Read more...
New
Opposite Church of Christ on North Rt. 83, up on hillside. Site of 3 Confederate Soldiers, related by marriage. Hours: Daylight only Read more...
New
The Hook-Powell-Moorman Farm’s history parallels that of Franklin County and the events that buffeted it in the 18th and 19th centuries. The oldest part of the home and a general store were constructed by Scottish immigrant merchant John Hook who moved here just as the county was formed out of Bedford County in 1785. Llewellyn Powell, a Franklin County official, Read more...
New
Called the only building of its kind in Virginia by the Virginia Historic Landmarks Commission, Yates Tavern is unique for its jetties, second-floor protrusions of some 10″ giving a bit more space in the upper floor. This little building, constructed in the mid-1700’s, was home to several generations of the Yates family, who also took out licenses to operate an Read more...
New
Completed in 1812 to serve the 1783 Pittsylvania courthouse, the former clerk’s office is the oldest public building in the town of Chatham. Built to be the chief repository of the county’s official records, it served from 1813 to 1852 under the charges of William Tunstall, Jr. and his son William H. Tunstall who succeeded him as clerk in 1836. Read more...




























